Bishops elect new bishops

During the meeting of the House of Bishops at Camp Allen, Texas two new bishops were elected. The Rev. Canon David Bailey of Utah was elected as bishop of the Navajoland Area Mission. The Rev. Dr. James ‘Jay’ Magness was elected bishop suffragan for federal ministries. Both elections are subject to the usual consent process.

ENS has two reports.

David Bailey elected as bishop of Navajoland

Prior to his 1998 arrival in Utah, Bailey served as rector of St. Stephen’s Episcopal Church in Phoenix and chaired Native American Ministries in the Diocese of Arizona. He also was a diocesan liaison to Navajoland. He assisted Navajoland Bishop Steven Plummer in an administrative capacity, helping the area mission develop a mission statement, economic development plans and as a Hogan Learning Center consultant. Plummer was the first Navajo ordained a priest and the first to serve in the House of Bishops. He was consecrated bishop of Navajoland in 1990.

James ‘Jay’ Magness elected bishop suffragan for federal ministries

The bishop suffragan for federal ministries, formally known in the church’s constitution as the bishop suffragan for the Armed Forces, is responsible for the pastoral care and oversight of U.S. Armed Forces chaplains; military personnel and families; chaplains in federal hospitals, prisons and correctional facilities; and for the eucharistic communities related to military installations.

Magness, 63, is canon for mission and diocesan administration in the Diocese of Southern Virginia;

Past Posts