The path of humility

Daily Reading for October 24 • The Twenty-Second Sunday after Pentecost

These are the stages to freedom from self-centeredness,

to humility,

the centerpiece of the true life.

The first stage of humility

is to keep the sacred nature of consciousness

and the world in which it exists

always alive within us.

Everything we think,

everything we do,

everything we feel,

is cast in time forever.

Every moment that we live is irreplaceable,

therefore each moment is hallowed.

We must be on guard

against despair, against fear,

against bitterness, against self-seeking,

and have the tenacity and courage

to think optimistically and act affirmatively,

and to put the needs of others always before our own. . . .

The fifth stage of humility

is not to conceal our faults,

but to be ruthlessly honest

with ourselves

and about ourselves,

for to lie to ourselves or to others

is to falsify our relationship with true life. . . .

The seventh stage of humility

is not only to declare ourselves to be humble,

but to believe in our hearts that we are of no consequence.

For alone we are of no moment—

in the vast reaches and endless memory of the universe

our most profound idea is the merest fantasy;

our greatest triumphs

and our meanest actions

are as lasting as a mark in sand.

From Always We Begin Again: The Benedictine Way of Living by John McQuiston II. Copyright © 1996. Used by permission of Morehouse Publishing, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania.

Past Posts