Who are TEC’s representatives to Anglican Communion bodies?

The Primates’ Meeting –
The Most Revd Michael Curry, Presiding Bishop and Primate of the Episcopal Church

The Anglican Consultative Council –
The Rt Revd Ian Douglas, bishop diocesan of Connecticut, member of the House of Bishops
The Revd Gay Clark Jennings, President of the House of Deputies of the General Convention
Rosalie Simmonds Ballentine, lay person and deputy to the General Convention from the Virgin Islands

The Joint Standing Committee of the Anglican Communion –
The Rt Revd Ian Douglas (elected by the ACC)

The Inter-Anglican Standing Commission on Unity, Faith and Order –
The Revd Katherine Grieb

The International Reformed-Anglican Dialogue –
The Revd Amy E. Richter

Currently, the above members of The Episcopal Church represent TEC in the various bodies of the Anglican Communion. Two of the bodies are considered Instruments of Communion; the Primates’ Meeting and the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC). One is is a standing commission of the AC and the other is an ecumenical dialogue between the AC and the Reformed Churches. Additionally the Joint Standing Committee of the AC is a body with members from both the Primates’ Meeting and the ACC. The ACC will be meeting in Lusaka Zambia 8 -20 APR 2016.

At this moment it is anyone’s guess how the decision of the Primates’ Meeting will affect these respective members of the various AC bodies. The Primates’ Meeting has no constitutional authority to enforce its decisions. The ACC is the only constitutional entity of the AC and it would be up to the members of the ACC how it will act upon the decision of the Primates’ Meeting concerning TEC.

Past Posts